About us

  1. /
  2. About us

About Us

Cineca is a non profit Consortium, made up of 118 members: 2 Ministries, 70 Italian Universities and 47 Italian National Institutions and agencies.

The High Performance Computing (HPC) department of CINECA is the largest computing centre in Italy and one of the largest in Europe.

The mission of the HPC Department is to accelerate scientific discovery by providing high-performance computing resources, data management and storage systems and tools and HPC services and expertise at large, aiming to develop and promote technical and scientific services related to high-performance computing for the Italian and European research community.

CINECA enables world-class scientific research by operating and supporting leading-edge supercomputing technologies and managing a state-of-the-art and effective environment for the different scientific communities. The HPC staff offers support and consultancy in HPC tools and techniques in several scientific domains, such as physics, particle physics, material sciences, chemistry and bioinformatics.

Cineca is currently:

  • a NVIDIA CUDA Research Center, based on the vision, quality, and impact of its research leveraging GPU technology;
  • Intel® Parallel Computing Center, to accelerate the creation of open standard, portable and scalable parallel applications by combining computational science, hardware, programmer tools, compilers and libraries, with domain knowledge and expertise.
    Specific focus of Cineca in this action is Quantum Espresso and SPECFEM3D;
  • one of the Advanced  Training Centres, to carry out and coordinate training and education activities that enable the European research community to utilise the computational infrastructure.

The Members of the Consortium:

Bari, Polytechnic of Bari, Basilicata, Bergamo, Bologna, Bolzano, Brescia, Cagliari, Calabria, Camerino, Cassino e Lazio Meridionale, Catania, Chieti, “Magna Græcia” di Catanzaro, Ferrara, Florence, Foggia, Genoa, L’Aquila,  IMT Istitute for Advanced Studies of Lucca, Macerata, Messina, Milan, Milan Bicocca, Polytechnic of Milan, Modena and Reggio Emilia, Molise, Naples Federico II, Campania “L.Vanvitelli”, Naples Parthenope, Naples l’Orientale, Scuola Superiore Meridionale, Padua, Palermo, Parma, Pavia, IUSS of Pavia, Perugia, University for foreigners of Perugia, Scuola Normale Superiore of Pisa, Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna of Pisa, Pisa, Polytechnic of Marche (Ancona), Mediterranean of Reggio Calabria, Rome Foro Italico, Sapienza University of Rome, Roma 3, Roma Tor Vergata, Salento, Salerno, Sannio, Sassari, Siena, University for foreigners of Siena, Teramo, Turin, Polytechnic of Turin, Trento, Trieste, International School for Advanced Studies of Trieste – SISSA, Udine, Urbino, Valle d’Aosta, Insubria (Varese), Venice Ca’ Foscari, Venice IUAV, Piemonte Orientale (Vercelli), Verona, Tuscia (Viterbo), Gran Sasso Science Institute (GSSI).

  • 40 National Institutions (13 National Research Institutions, 9 University Hospital, 1 Institutions AFAM, 3 others)

Area di Ricerca Scientifica e Tecnologica di Trieste – Area Science Park,  Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche – CNR, ENEA, Istituto Nazionale di Documentazione, Innovazione e Ricerca Educativa – Indire, Istituto Nazionale di Astrofisica – INAF,  Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare – INFN, Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia – INGV, Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca Metrologica – INRIM, Istituto Nazionale di Oceanografia e di Geofisica Sperimentale – OGS,Istituto Nazionale per la valutazione del sistema educativo di istruzione e di formazione – Invalsi, Istituto centrale per la digitalizzazione del patrimonio culturale – Digital Library Stazione Zoologica “Anton Dohrn” – SZN, Museo Storico della Fisica e Centro Studi e Ricerche “Enrico Fermi” di Roma

  • University Policlinics and IRRCS

Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Università della Campania Luigi Vanvitelli, Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria Policlinico Paolo Giaccone, Palermo, Azienda Ospedaliero Universitaria Careggi, Azienda Ospedaliero Universitaria di Cagliari, Azienda Sanitaria dell’Alto Adige – SABES, Azienda USL di Bologna – IRCCS delle Scienze Neurologiche di Bologna, IRRCS – Istituto Nazionale Tumori di Napoli – Fondazione G. Pascale, Istituto Giannina Gaslini, IRCCS Istituto Ortopedico Rizzoli di Bologna

  • Higher Education for Art, Music and Dance (AFAM) institutions.

Accademia di Belle Arti di Catania, Accademia delle Belle Arti di Firenze, Accademia di Belle Arti di Lecce, Accademia di Belle Arti di Macerata , Accademia di Belle Arti “Mario Sironi” di Sassari, Accademia di Belle Arti di Venezia, Accademia Nazionale d’Arte Drammatica “Silvio D’Amico”, Roma, Conservatorio di Musica Domenico Cimarosa di Avellino, Conservatorio di Musica “Niccolo’ Piccinni” di Bari, Conservatorio di Musica “Luca Marenzio” di Brescia, Conservatorio di Musica Stanislao Giacomantonio di Cosenza, Conservatorio di Musica Luigi Cherubini, Firenze  , Conservatorio di Musica “Alfredo Casella”, L’Aquila, Conservatorio di Musica “E.R. Duni” – Matera, Conservatorio di Musica Arrigo Boito di Parma, Conservatorio Statale di Musica di Torino “Giuseppe Verdi”, Istituto Superiore di Studi Musicali “Vincenzo Bellini” di , Caltanissetta, Istituto Superiore di Studi Musicali Arturo Toscanini 

  • National Agencies and Institutions

Agenzia Italia Meteo, The Italian national agency for the evaluation of universities and research institutes – ANVUR, Biblioteca Nazionale di Firenze, Scuola Nazionale dell’Amministrazione – SNA