Logo Cineca Logo SCAI

You are here

About us

Cineca is a non profit Consortium, made up of 112 members: 2 Ministries, 70 Italian Universities and 40 Institutions. 

SCAI (SuperComputing Applications and Innovation) is the High Performance Computing department of CINECA, the largest computing centre in Italy and one of the largest in Europe.

The mission of SCAI is to accelerate the scientific discovery by providing high performance computing resources, data management and storage systems and tools and HPC services and expertise at large, aiming to develop and promote technical and scientific services related to high-performance computing for the Italian and European research community.

CINECA enables world-class scientific research by operating and supporting leading-edge supercomputing technologies and by managing a state-of-the-art and effective environment for the different scientific communities. The SCAI staff offers support and consultancy in HPC tools and techniques and in several scientific domains, such as physics, particle physics, material sciences, chemistry.

Cineca is currently:

  • a CUDA Research Center, based on the vision, quality, and impact of its research leveraging GPU technology;
  • Intel® Parallel Computing Center, to accelerate the creation of open standard, portable and scalable parallel applications by combining computational science, hardware, programmer tools, compilers and libraries, with domain knowledge and expertise. 
    Specific focus of Cineca in this action is Quantum Espresso and SPECFEM3D;
  • one of the 6 PRACE Training Centres (PTCs), to carry out and coordinate training and education activities that enable the European research community to utilise the computational infrastructure available through PRACE.


The Members of the Consortium:

Bari, Polytechnic of Bari, Basilicata, Bergamo, Bologna, Bolzano, Brescia, Cagliari, Calabria, Camerino, Cassino e Lazio Meridionale, Catania, Chieti, "Magna Græcia" di Catanzaro, Ferrara, Florence, Foggia, Genoa, L'Aquila,  IMT Istitute for Advanced Studies of Lucca, Macerata, Messina, Milan, Milan Bicocca, Polytechnic of Milan, Modena and Reggio Emilia, Molise, Naples Federico II, Campania "L.Vanvitelli", Naples Parthenope, Naples l'Orientale, Scuola Superiore Meridionale, Padua, Palermo, Parma, Pavia, IUSS of Pavia, Perugia, University for foreigners of Perugia, Scuola Normale Superiore of Pisa, Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna of Pisa, Pisa, Polytechnic of Marche (Ancona), Mediterranean of Reggio Calabria, Rome Foro Italico, Sapienza University of Rome, Roma 3, Roma Tor Vergata, Salento, Salerno, Sannio, Sassari, Siena, University for foreigners of Siena, Teramo, Turin, Polytechnic of Turin, Trento, Trieste, International School for Advanced Studies of Trieste - SISSA, Udine, Urbino, Valle d'Aosta, Insubria (Varese), Venice Ca' Foscari, Venice IUAV, Piemonte Orientale (Vercelli), Verona, Tuscia (Viterbo), Gran Sasso Science Institute (GSSI).

  • 40 National Institutions (13 National Research Institutions, 9 University Hospital, 1 Institutions AFAM, 3 others)

Area Science Park (Trieste), CNR (National Research Council), Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development ENEA, National Institute for Astrophysics (INAF), National Institute for Nuclear Physics (INFN), National Institute of Oceanography and Experimental Geophysics (OGS), National Institute for Documentation, Innovation and Educational Research (INDIRE), National Institute for the Educational Evaluation of Instruction and Training (INValSI), National Metrology Institute (INRiM)Zoological Station "Anton Dohrn" (SZN).

PRACE Training Centres (PTCs)
Details about PRACE Training Centres
CUDA Research Centres
Details about CUDA Research Centres
Intel® Parallel Computing Center
Details about Intel® Parallel Computing Center